STONE CHURCH CEMETERY COMMISSION BURIAL RECORDS
The Secretary is currently digitizing the burial reocrds of the cemetery. This may take a few years, but you can view the records alphabetially by last name. As eah range is finished being digitized, the document will be updated on the website.
The cemetery uses Range, Section, Block, Grave Number. There are currently 13 Ranges, containing 15 Sections, four Blocks (A-D) and the Grave Number 18. In some cases the Pathway as been purchased.
Range 1 starts east of the first drive looking from the Old Church Stone Entranceway. The Section runs from Regionals Road 15, 1 to 15 ending at the southern most driveway. The Sections are broken down from 1 - 8 and then from the middle driveway south from 9 to 15. There are sign post along the middle driveway showing the Range and Section locations.
The cemetery was established in 1834. Around the turn of the Century Rev. David Best and Angus Watson began organizing the new part of the cemetery into Ranges and Sections. The old part of the cemetery had no records kept, but at this time burials in these east sections began to be recorded.
Tombsone inscriptions from the old section of the Stone Church Cemetery were recorded during the summer of 1979 by the Cemetery Committee of the Beaverton Thorah Eldon Historical Society. SOme of these records were done under the Experience 78 Programme but were revised and updated by the 1979 Cemetery Committee.